373-1.1 General.

    (a) Refugee cash assistance (RCA).

    The RCA program is a Federal program that provides cash assistance to refugees, Cuban/Haitian entrants and asylees eligible under this Part in order to assist them to achieve self-sufficiency as soon as possible. RCA is a publicly administered program through the social services district in which refugees, entrants and asylees reside.

    (b) Relationship to other regulations of the office.

To the extent consistent with this subpart, regulations of the office governing public assistance will apply to RCA. Such regulations include Part 349 (General Provisions), Part 350 (Application), Part 351 (Investigation and Eligibility), Part 352 (Standards of Assistance), Part 355 (Information Pamphlets, Notification of Decisions), Part 356 (Inquiries and Complaints), Part 357 (Confidential Nature of Records) and Part 358 (Fair Hearings) all of this Title.

    (c)    Definitions.

        (1)    Employability plan means an individualized written plan for a refugee, asylee or entrant registered for employment services that sets forth a program of services intended to result in the earliest possible employment of the refugee or entrant.

        (2) Employable means not exempt from registration for employability services as set forth in section 373-1.8 (b) of this subpart.

        (3) Family self-sufficiency plan means a plan that addresses the employability service needs of the employable members of a family for the purpose of enabling the family to become self-supporting through the employment of one or more family members.

        (4) Filing unit means the individual or individuals whose needs are considered in determining eligibility for, and the amount of, a payment of RCA for which Federal funding is claimed.

        (5) Registrant means an individual who has registered for employability services set forth in this sub-part.

        (6) Authorized service provider means a public or private community agency that has entered into a contract with the office to provide employment services to recipients of RCA.

        (7) Employability services means services designed to enable an individual to obtain employment and to improve the employability or work skills of the individual.

        (8) Local resettlement agency means a local affiliate or subcontractor of a national voluntary agency that has entered into a grant, contract, or cooperative agreement with the United States Department of State or other appropriate Federal agency to provide for the reception and initial placement of refugees in the United States.

    (d) Opportunity to apply for cash assistance.

        (1) A social services district must provide any individual wishing to do so, an opportunity to apply for cash assistance and must determine the eligibility of each application as promptly as possible within no more than 30 days from the date of application.

        (2) A social services district must inform applicants about the eligibility requirements and the rights and responsibilities of applicants and recipients under the RCA program.

        (3) In determining eligibility for cash assistance, a social services district must promptly refer elderly or disabled refugees and refugees with dependent children to other cash assistance programs to apply for assistance.

Return DSS Regs Table of Contents | Search DSS Regs